InPolySons - IPS InPolySons  : an unexpected label, sempiternally pataphysic
    Version française    

Home

Toy Music

Raw Music

Rock in Opposition

Mechanical music

Pataphysical music

Compilations

Bandcamp

Vinyls

DVD

 

 

Pierre Bastien & Lukas Simonis, Mots d'Heures : Gousses, Rames

Pierre Bastien & Lukas Simonis, Mots d'Heures : Gousses, Rames

Pierre Bastien develops since several years his very personnal music based on the building of musical machines made of Mecano. His orchestra "Mecanium" plays for him on the records and on stage. A machinery music, delicate and full of tenderness, with emotions which rapidly touched Pascal Comelade. Pierre Bastien not only builds machines, but also a real musical route between artistic installations and music, a sounding and visual univers with great modesty and sincerity. After some interesting collaborations with the DJ music of Aphew Twin, Pierre Bastien comes back with this new "oulipien" project, accompanied by Lukas Simonis (AA-Kismet, Dull Schiksall) who affords a "rock & schnops" touch. A new novelty, which is rare !
Anglaisement frenchy.

1 Cock Lock
2 Ee Diedle Diedle 
3 Tamtam
4 Cœur-lilas
5 Dissolu Typique
6 Tan Q
7 Little Mess Mohfat
8 Mondaa Chaal
9Un Petit D'un Petit
10Amiance
11 Nanini
12 Ola Kile Kohl 
13 Myades Sounds Turkish
14 Ecoutee lah
15 Requia
16 Peter Peter

(IPS 0402) out of print
Available for digital download, click on the links above (Itunes, Amazon, Virginmega, Deezer, 7digital.com...).

 

A short history of the story

1-Nagoya, 1995
At the ARTEC opening I have a long talk with British art critic Nicholas Wadley, about some literary games: palindromes, tautograms, lipograms, homophonism, S+7 method etc...

2-Rotterdam, 1996
Nicholas sends a photocopy of a short poem in French. A strange French indeed: "Un petit d'un petit / S'étonne aux Halles / Un petit d'un petit / Ah! Degrés te fallent [...]". After a few days thinking about it, I open Lewis Carroll's Alice in Wonderland and read: "Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall / Humpty Dumpty had a great fall [...]". This is it! The curious French poem was just a phonetic transcription of some English nursery rhymes!

3-London, 1996
While participating in the Symposium of Shadows every night for one week, I spend my daytime in the bookshops until I discover, in The Faber Book of Nonsense Verse, the same poem again with a few others and the author's name: Luis d'Antin Van Rooten (1906-1973).

4-New-York, Dec.1996
While representing Holland at the Flea Festival (Dortmund/Ghent/New-York/Eindhoven) I spend again most of my time in the bookshops, until I find the book Mots d'Heures: Gousses, Rames by Luis d'Antin Van Rooten (Penguin Books, 1980; first published by Grossman Publishers, 1967). When asked, the bookseller says that he did not know he still had a copy of it. He thought the book had been out of print for many years already.
Immediately I start researching the original English poems corresponding to their weird French transcriptions.

5-The Hague, 1997
The Dutch magazine Bzzlletin is preparing an issue about the French writers Raymond Roussel, Raymond Queneau and Georges Pérec, related to the Oulipo event organized by CBK Rotterdam at Boymans Museum. Asked to collaborate, I write an article about Mots d'Heures: Gousses, Rames. The title is Tweetaligheid: toi et ta lyre aident (Bzzlletin N°243, Feb.1997).

6-Nancy, 1998
Denis Tagu is the director of a very peculiar audio label called InPolySons. His catalogue includes new music based on specific themes such as art brut, Lewis Carroll's books, Robert Wyatt's compositions, Alfred Jarry's Ubu etc... He proposes me to release a new album on a subject I would choose, after my previous InPolySons cd based on Queneau's Exercices de Style [Eggs Air Sister Steel, IPS1094].

7-Paris, 1999
At the flee market I buy the original Volland Edition of Mother Goose. Back home I open it and find the following handwritten inscription: "Dear Pierre, Look Count them, Fix them right here on these pages, Enjoy Mother Goose[...]". Then, written by the same enigmatic person, a list entitled "Mots d'Heures Gousses Rames" with the forty transcriptions and their original English titles. Only two poems are missing on the list (eight were missing on my own list).

8-Paris/Nancy/Rotterdam/London, 2000
A net of amateurs is now trying to come through the last secrets of the book. When we finally succeed, Denis Tagu, Lukas Simonis and me decide to start working on an album based on the French poems.

9-Paris/Rotterdam, 2001
Lukas Simonis records very different people from different nationalities, who recite the poems. They are Australian, Spanish, Swiss, Austrian, British, Scottish, Finnish... Then we spend a few months composing and recording the music together, until the Master is ready and the producer enthusiastic. Then we decide to have a live version of the result. The work is still in progress!

 

About

Forthcoming

Catalog

Contact IPS

Order

Links

InPolySons - le label pataphysique -IPS InPolySons  :  un label inattendu, sempiternellement pataphysique
    English version    

Accueil

Musique jouet

Musique brute

Rock in Opposition

Musique machinale

Musique pataphysique

Compilations

Bandcamp

Vinyles

DVD

 

 

Pierre Bastien & Lukas Simonis, Mots d'Heures : Gousses, Rames

Pierre Bastien & Lukas Simonis, Mots d'Heures : Gousses, Rames

Pierre Bastien, depuis de nombreuses années, développe sa musique personnelle, basée sur la construction de machines musicales en Mecano. C'est son orchestre de "Mécanium" qui l'accompagne sur disque et sur scène. Une musique machinale tendre et délicate, émotionnelle qui a plu dès le début à un Pascal Comelade. Pierre Bastien construit non seulement des machines, mais un parcours musical à mi-chemin entre installations et musiques, un univers visuel et sonore, d'une grande modestie et sincérité. Après avoir flirté efficacement avec le monde des DJ cher à Aphex Twin, Pierre Bastien est de retour sur un projet musico-oulipien, accompagné de Lukas Simonis (AA-Kismet, Dull Schiksall) qui apporte une touche plus "rock & schnops" à l'ensemble. Une nouveauté nouvelle, ce qui est rare.
Anglaisement frenchy.

1 Cock Lock
2 Ee Diedle Diedle 
3 Tamtam
4 Coeurur-lilas
5 Dissolu Typique
6 Tan Q
7 Little Mess Mohfat
8 Mondaa Chaal
9Un Petit D'un Petit
10Amiance
11 Nanini
12 Ola Kile Kohl 
13 Myades Sounds Turkish
14 Ecoutee lah
15 Requia
16 Peter Peter

(IPS 0402)
CD épuisé - disponible en digital. Cliquer sur l'un des liens Itunes, Amazon, Virginmega, Deezer, 7digital.com...

Petite histoire de l'histoire

1-Nagoya, 1995
Lors de l'inauguration de ARTEC, j'ai une longue discussion avec le critique d'art anglais Nicholas Wadley à propos de jeux littéraires : palindromes, tautogrammes, liprogrammes, homophones, la méthode S+7 etc...

2-Rotterdam, 1996
Nicholas m'envoie la photocopie d'un petit poème en français. Un français plutôt étrange : "Un petit d'un petit / S'étonne aux Halles / Un petit d'un petit / Ah ! Degrés te fallent [...]". Après y avoir réfléchi plusieurs jours, j'ouvre "Alice au Pays des Merveilles" de Lewis Carroll et lis : "Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall / Humpty Dumpty had a great fall [...]". J'y étais! Le poème français un peu bizarre n'était qu'une transcription phonétique d'une de ces comptines anglaises !

3-London, 1996
Tandis que je participais au Symposium Shadows tous les soirs pendant une semaine, je passe mes journées dans les librairies lorsque je découvre, dans le Faber Book of Nonsense Verse, de nouveau le même poème accompagné de quelques autres ainsi que du nom de l'auteur : Luis d'Antin Van Rooten (1906-1973).

4-New-York, décembre 1996
Alors que je représentais la Hollande au Flea Festival (Dortmund/Gand/New-York/Eindhoven) je passe encore la plupart de mon temps dans les librairies jusqu'à trouver le livre Mots d'Heures : Gousses Rames par Luis d'Antin Van Rooten (Penguin Books, 1980 : tout d'abord publié chez Grossman Publishers, 1967). Lorsque je lui demande, le libraire dit qu'il ne savait pas qu'il lui en restait une copie. Il pensait que le livre était épuisé depuis de nombreuses années déjà.
Je commence immédiatement à rechercher les poèmes anglais originaux correspondant aux étranges transcriptions françaises.

5-The Hague, 1997
Le magazine hollandais Bzzlletin prépare un numéro spécial sur les écrivains français Raymond Roussel, Raymond Queneau et Georges Pérec, en relation avec l'exposition Oulipo organisée par CBK Rotterdam au Musée Boymans. Lorsque l'on me demande de collaborer à ce numéro, je décide d'écrire un article à propos de Mots d'Heures : Gousses Rames. Le titre est Tweetaligheid : toi et ta lyre aident (Bzzlletin n°243, février 1997).

6-Nancy, 1998
Denis Tagu est le responsable d'un petit label indépendant très particulier qui s'appelle InPolySons. Son catalogue comprend des musiques nouvelles basées sur des thèmes spécifiques comme l'art brut, les livres de Lewis Carroll, les compositions de Robert Wyatt, Ubu d'Alfred Jarry etc... Il me propose de réaliser un nouvel album sur le sujet de mon choix, suite à mon premier CD sur InPolySons centré sur les Exercices de Styles de Queneau [Eggs Air Sister Steel, IPS1094].

7-Paris, 1999
J'achète sur le marché aux puces l'édition originale Volland de Mother Goose. De retour chez moi, je l'ouvre et trouve l'inscription manuscrite suivante : Cher Pierre, Regarde Compte les, Fixe les bien sur ces pages, Prend plaisir à Mother Goose[...]. Puis, écrite par la même personne énigmatique, une liste intitulée "Mots d'Heures Gousses Rames" avec les quarante transcriptions et leurs titres originaux en anglais. Seuls deux poèmes manquent sur la liste (huit manquaient à la mienne).

8-Paris/Nancy/Rotterdam/London, 2000
Un réseau d'amateurs essaye alors de percer les derniers secrets du livre. Lorsque enfin nous y parvenons, Denis Tagu, Lukas Simonis et moi-même décidons de commencer à travailler sur l'album basé sur les poèmes français.

9-Paris/Rotterdam, 2001
Lukas Simonis enregistre des personnes très différentes et de nationalités diverses, qui récitent les poèmes. Ce sont des australiens, des espagnols, suisses, autrichiens, anglais, écossais, finlandais... Puis nous passons quelques mois à composer et enregistrer la musique, Lukas et moi, jusqu'à ce que le Master soit prêt et le producteur enthousiaste ! Nous décidons alors de préparer une version concert du résultat. En préparation !

 

 

A propos

A venir

Catalogue

Contact

Commander

Liens