InPolySons - IPS InPolySons  : an unexpected label, sempiternally pataphysic
    Version française    

Home

Toy Music

Raw Music

Rock in Opposition

Mechanical music

Pataphysical music

Compilations

Bandcamp

Vinyls

DVD

 

 

Grimo, Rag-Time

Grimo, Rag-Time

The aim is not to play original “ragtime”, this skipping music, from the end of XIX century, thas has been one of the roots for jazz, and inspiration for composers like Claude Debussy and Erik Satie. It's rather a matter of “ragging” the time and cutting it to pieces, as the word says so. The warm electronic sounds of the Moog use the “sample & hold” system, selecting random notes and automatically playing them on the keyboard. The Stratocater Fender guitar is improved by unusual pedals effects, such as the ring modulator, the Talk-Box or the Q-Tron. Added to fluffy and sweet sonorities from old waxes, these elements lead to explore surprising, absurd and adventurous musical universes. Disarticulated fox-trots, punky or hawaiian waltzes, covers from Led Zeppelin, John Fahey, W.A. Mozart, winks to Sun Ra, Jelly Roll Morton...

Getting away from Camizole and after several Video Adventures with different fellows, Dominique Grimaud is admittedly a loner, but this new disc shows that he still remains very populated within himself ! Indeed, he manipulates his pick-up to invent new playmates more noisy than the old waxes of the Grévin museum.
Like his compatriot from Chartres, the raw artiste Raymond Isidore, known as Picassiette, who spent his spare time decorating his hand-made house with mosaics created by pieces of crockery gleaned here and there, Grimo recycles those antiquated recordings from dance hop orchestras, argentinian tango... to make a rather syncopated interbreeding with his analogue synthesizer automaton and his odd way of playing the guitar.
The amazing arrangements, the proliferation of sounds that recall animal cries and sonorous gags, evoke the sound tracks of Tex Avery's cartoons created by Carl Stalling, or Spike Jones music hall shows. Last but not least, Grimo designed with application a magnificent black & white libretto which illustrate the sonorous universe of each track.
Hepcats into the ring ! Analogically anachronistic.

Dominique Grimaud Mandoline-banjo, Moog, Fender Stratocaster, Records, Spinet from the Vosges, Harmonica, Melodica, Bird call, Whistle…

Guests :
Tagubu rythm guitar (2), percussion (4), voice (13)
Anne / Anna voice (13)

(IPS 0303)


Price according to your country

 

About

Forthcoming

Catalog

Contact IPS

Order

Links

InPolySons - le label pataphysique -IPS
InPolySons  :  un label inattendu, sempiternellement pataphysique

Musique jouet

Musique brute

Rock in Opposition

Musique machinale

Musique pataphysique

Compilations

Compilations TRUC :
6: Cabinet de Curiosités
3: Album Photo
Abonnement

  English version    
 

Grimo, Rag-Time

Numéro de référence au catalogue : IPS 0303.
Date de publication : mars 2003.
Disponible en digital sur Bandcamp depuis le 26 mars 2020.

Tarif selon pays d'expédition

« Il ne s'agit pas bien sûr de jouer “Le Ragtime”, cette musique sautillante née à la toute fin du XIXème siècle, une des sources du jazz, qui s'inspira également des compositeurs comme Claude Debussy et Erik Satie. Néanmoins, il est question de “déchiqueter le temps ” (une des traductions de ragtime). Les sons chaudement électroniques du Moog synthetizer utilisent le système “ sample & hold ”(notes jouées automatiquement et sélectionnées au hasard sur le clavier). La guitare Fender Stratocaster tire avantage de pédales d'effet peu usitées, tel le modulateur en anneau, la Talk Box, le Q-tron... Autant d'éléments qui associés aux sonorités quelques peu floues et suaves captées à l'époque des premiers enregistrements discographiques me permettent d'explorer des univers musicaux surprenants, saugrenus, inédits. Des fox-trots désarticulés, des valses punkoïdes ou hawaïennes, des reprises de Led Zeppelin, John Fahey, W.A. Mozart, des clins d'oeil à Sun Ra, Jelly Roll Morton... »

Tout droit échappé de Camizole, après de multiples Vidéo Aventures en galante compagnie, Dominique Grimaud fait certes cavalier seul, mais prouve avec ce nouveau projet qu'il reste très peuplé à l'intérieur ! De fait, il détourne malicieusement son pick-up pour s'inventer de nouveaux camarades de jeu plus sympas que les vieilles cires du musée Grévin.
Comme son compatriote de Chartres, Raymond Isidore dit Picassiette, qui passait son temps libre à décorer sa maison de mosaïques à partir de bouts de vaisselle glanés de-ci de-là, Grimo recycle les galettes d'orchestre de bal populaire, tango argentin... pour un métissage plutôt syncopé avec son synthé analogique automate et ses guitares bricolées.
Les arrangements surprenants, la prolifération de sons évoquant des cris d'animaux et les gags sonores rappellent les bandes-sons des dessins animés de Tex Avery créées par Carl Stalling ou les numéros de music-hall de Spike Jones. Cerise sur le gâteau, Grimo a dessiné avec application un superbe livret noir & blanc illustrant l'univers sonore de chaque plage.
Rag-Time est une véritable invite à entrer dans la ronde des sons.
Zazou dans le rétro ! Analogiquement anachronique.

Dominique Grimaud Mandoline-banjo, Moog, Fender Stratocaster, Disques, Epinette, Harmonica, Mélodica, Appeaux, Sifflets, Bâton de pluie…
Invités :
Tagubu guitare rythmique(2), percussions (4), chœurs (13)
Anne / Anna chœurs (13)

 

A propos

A venir

Catalogue

Bandcamp

Vinyles

DVD

Contact

Commander

Liens