InPolySons - IPS
InPolySons  : an unexpected label, sempiternally pataphysic

Toy Music

Raw Music

Rock in Opposition

Mechanical music

Pataphysical music

Compilations

TRUC Compilations:
10. Instruments Imaginaires
6. Cabinet de Curiosités
3. Album Photo
Subscription

  Version française    
 
Véronique Vilhet and Dominique Grimaud, Îles

Véronique Vilhet et Dominique Grimaud, Îles

Catalog reference number: IPS1016.
Vinyl 12 inches, release date: October, 2016.

Price according to your country

Véronique Vilhet and Dominique Grimaud are part, as indicated in the English Wire magazine, of the « veterans of French underground » who begun their musical activities in the counter-culture movement launched after May-68. Their adventures and misadventures drove them from the Festival of Avignon to Caracas, from Baalbek festival to the Music Building of New York, as well as in charts of the New Musical Express. Both of them followed the tracks of side roads of auto-production, even if they have also been considered by “official” labels in Chicago and Barclay in France. After four decades, they still go ahead; the duet now often plays outside the official channels, in self-directed places, squats and new-generation of record shops.

InPolySons already invited in the past Véronique Vilhet or Dominique Grimaud: first for Véronique with the re-issue of the songs of Johnny B Crotte, and second for Dominique with two solo and duet (with Pierre Bastien) albums (Rag-Time and Rag-Time vol 2).

Véronique Vilhet et Dominique Grimaud

Their new album has for concept “Islands”. In 2013, Denis Tagu gave them a present: Atlas of Remote Islands by Judith Schalansky (Penguin Books, 2010) translated in french (Arthaud, Flammarion 2010). Very keen of this topic, they proposed to use this book as a base for composing music and an album. As InPolySons found the idea pretty good, Véronique and Dominique selected within this atlas, as well as in folk and scientific books, different islands that all have specific histories, sometimes tragic, sometimes funny, and always unexpected. Recording was performed without synthesizers (except a Synthi AKS for simulation of wave sound). The drums and Fender Stratocaster guitars are the main used instruments, with the sake for open unusual chords, such as those by Nick Drake, Peter Finger or Michael Hedges. For some musical atmospheres, some additional instruments have been added: spinet, balafo, National steel guitar, alto and baryton saxophones, mouth harp… At the end, 12 pieces that correspond to 12 real or imaginary islands, with 12 outlines and fates turns by turns knocked-up, rusty, torn to shreds, disturbing, wild, uneven, pushed, tormented, comical, unusual, charming, colourful... a nice discovery.


Art work: Dominique Julien, Agnès Méreau et Dominique Grimaud.
Lay out: Julien Louvet
Mastering: Patrick Muller

Face A

1 - Rapa Iti 2:02

2 - Île Pingalap 1:28
3 - Tromelin 3:03
4 - L’île à Hélice 1:41
5 - Trindale 2:35
6 - Îles Juan Fernandez 2:17
7 - Rapa Nui 1:48
8 - Fangatoufa 2:17

9 - Sandy 2:46

Face B

1 - Île Aïeaïeaïe 2:27
2 - Île de l’Ascension 2:42
3 - L’île de la Solitude 13:26

 

 

About

Forthcoming

Catalog

Bandcamp

Vinyls

DVD

Contact IPS

Order

Links

InPolySons - le label pataphysique -IPS InPolySons  :  un label inattendu, sempiternellement pataphysique
    English version    

Accueil

Musique jouet

Musique brute

Rock in Opposition

Musique machinale

Musique pataphysique

Compilations

Bandcamp

Vinyles

DVD

 

 

Véronique Vilhet et Dominique Grimaud, Îles

Véronique Vilhet et Dominique Grimaud, Îles

Véronique Vilhet et Dominique Grimaud font partie, comme l'écrit le magazine anglais The Wire, des veterans of the French underground apparus dans le bouillonnement artistique et contre-culturel qui suivit Mai 68. Leurs aventures et mésaventures musicales les ont menés du festival d'Avignon jusqu'à Caracas, du festival de Baalbek au Music Building de New York, en passant par les charts du New Musical Express. Tous deux ont suivi les chemins de traverses de l'auto-production, mais ils ont fréquenté aussi certains labels de Chicago et même notre Barclay national. Quatre décennies plus tard, ils n'ont rien lâché ; le duo se produit aujourd'hui le plus souvent en dehors des circuits officiels, dans des lieux autogérés, des squats et les boutiques de la nouvelle génération des disquaires.

InPolySons a souvent invité Véronique Vilhet ou Dominique Grimaud : la première pour la réédition des chansons loufoques de Johnny B Crotte et le second pour des albums solo ou en duo avec Pierre Bastien (Rag-Time et Rag-Time vol 2).

Véronique Vilhet et Dominique Grimaud

Leur nouvel opus a pour thème les îles. En 2013, Denis Tagu leurs offre l'Atlas des Îles Abandonnées de Judith Schalansky (Arthaud, Flammarion 2010 ). Depuis longtemps passionnés par ce sujet, ils lui suggèrent que cet ouvrage ferait une excellente matière pour un album. L'idée étant bien reçue, ils sélectionnent dans cet atlas, ainsi que dans la littérature populaire et scientifique, des îles ayant toutes une histoire peu banale, parfois tragique, d'autres fois drôle, toujours inattendue. L'enregistrement se fait sans synthétiseurs (sauf un Synthi AKS pour simuler le son des vagues). La batterie et la guitare Fender Stratocaster sont les instruments principaux, avec toujours cette recherche d'accords ouverts peu usités, comme ceux utilisés par Nick Drake, Peter Finger ou Michael Hedges. Selon les ambiances musicales, quelques instruments additionnels ont été employés : épinette, balafon, National steel guitar, saxophones baryton et alto, guimbarde... Au final, douze morceaux correspondant à douze îles réelles ou fictives, avec douze contours et douze destins tour à tour cabossé, rouillé, déchiqueté, déroutant, extravagant, accidenté, bousculé, tourmenté, cocasse, insolite, enchanteur, truculent.

Visuel : Dominique Julien, Agnès Méreau et Dominique Grimaud.
PAO : Julien Louvet
Mastering: Patrick Muller

Vinyle 30 cm - IPS1016

Tarif selon pays d'expédition



Face A

1 - Rapa Iti 2:02

2 - Île Pingalap 1:28
3 - Tromelin 3:03
4 - L’île à Hélice 1:41
5 - Trindale 2:35
6 - Îles Juan Fernandez 2:17
7 - Rapa Nui 1:48
8 - Fangatoufa 2:17

9 - Sandy 2:46

Face B

1 - Île Aïeaïeaïe 2:27
2 - Île de l’Ascension 2:42
3 - L’île de la Solitude 13:26



 

A propos

A venir

Catalogue

Contact

Commander

Liens